Tutor Profile
 
space space space
email: password: Forgotten your login details?
space
home register Forum News About Us Jobs
space
ProfileContactAbout
Send to 100s of other Social Networking / Bookmarking sites Send to Facebook Send to Google Send to StumbleUpon Send to MySpaceSend to Linkedin Send to Twitter

Michael Mitcham

   Professional Membership Status
About Me:

I offer tuition in a variety of subjects, most notably French and German up to degree level and English (Language and Literature) and Theatre Studies up to A Level. I have over ten years worth of private tutoring experience and have worked with many people of different ages and of different abilities.

I am a fully trained and experienced actor, having performed across a wide variety of theatrical genres - from pantomime to Chekhov. I have appeared in a handful of corporate and low budget films and adverts too. An example of previous acting work is playing Romeo in a German production of 'Romeo and Juliet' in Dusseldorf. I regularly do freelance corporate role-play, in English, French and German.

I graduated from UCL in 2004, gaining a First Class Honours degree in French and German. My A Levels include Economics, French, German and Italian (3 x As; 1 xB). In my GCSEs, I achieved an A* in all the subjects I tutor (5 x A* and 1 x A).

Since leaving UCL, I have worked within the sphere of corporate translation and European sales, which has been important in strengthening my linguistic and cultural awareness of French and German speaking countries. I have an Italian mother and so have always been exposed to foreign cultures and languages and it is this which has fuelled my passion for languages.

I offer lots of experience in the field of education, having gleaned this through work in both state and independent settings. I currently work for one of the UK's leading independent schools. As an actor and teacher, I understand the importance of making the learning process fun - I am incredibly relaxed, motivated and creative either in the classroom or with the tutee, using different teaching styles to adhere to the learning habits of the individual.

I also offer tuition for home-schooled children as well as booster work for Key Stage 1 and 2 and The 11+.

Current Assignments and Past Success Stories

-I am currently home-schooling a 13-year old girl in Key Stage 3 English (Language and Literature) and am working with an adult beginner of German - hopefully he should be sitting his GCSE next year!
-A previous tutee is currently studying German at St Hilda's College (University of Oxford).
-Two boys I tutored last year throughout Year 10 and 11 went on to both achieve A* in GCSE German.

Subjects Offered

French and German - up to Degree Level
English and Theatre Studies - up to A Level
Italian - up to A/S Level
Primary Level Maths and English
Coaching for entry into drama school
Bespoke help and exam technique in Verbal Reasoning and Maths for SW Herts Consortium exam
11+ and 13+ entrance exams
Home-schooling

And Wrapping It Up...

I am incredibly positive, enthusiastic and approachable as well being able to explain myself clearly to the tutee. I normally travel to the tutee, since I have found that tutees are more receptive when they are in a familiar environment.

Whatever your enquiry, please note that I am happy to travel reasonable distances...I look forward to hearing from you!
Search for Tutors...

Why not...

Register for free!

Registration is completely free and allows you to create an informative, searchable online profile at TutorProfiles.com.

Click here to join us!

It takes less than a minute to create your profile. Why not give it a try?

 

TutorProfiles.com Affiliate Program

Visit our Facebook Page

Home | Register | Forum | News | Directory | About Us | Invitations | Contact | Links | Affiliate Program | Listings

TutorProfiles.com © 2020 Orpheus Media